Book Beginnings and Friday 56: The Ocean at the End of the Lane


This Friday’s book is The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman.


For Book Beginnings by Rose City Reader

I wore a black suit and a white shirt, a black tie and black shoes, all polished and shiny: clothes that normally would make me feel uncomfortable, as if I were in a stolen uniform, or pretending to be an adult.

For The Friday 56 by Freda’s Voice

Adults follow paths. Children explore. Adults are content to walk the same way, hundreds of times, or thousands; perhaps it never occurs to adults to step off the paths, to creep beneath rhododendrons, to find the spaces between fences.

5 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and Friday 56: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

    1. I didn’t realize Neil Gaiman wrote Doctor Who episodes, but it make sense. The show is right up his alley!

  1. Interesting. I’ve never heard of this one, though I really like the voice of this one, and Neil Gaiman is of course, great! We probably all know how it feels to “pretend to be an adult”. I LOVE that quote from the 56; it’s so true! Adults lose their curiosity so quickly 😦

    Jessica @ Ramblings on Readings

  2. I LOVE this book and am gearing up to write about one of Gaman’s other works for some friends. Found you through the Friday 56. The quote you chose for it is fabulous.

    Fridays are tricky for me, but I am hoping to get into some Book Beginnings soon!

Leave a Reply

