Top Ten Tuesday: Book I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read


For shame on me, I really haven’t read many of the classics.


 

Top Ten Books I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

  1. Animal Farm by George Orwell. I somehow missed out on this one in school.
  2. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo. I was *supposed* to read this in school. Whether or not I did, however…
  3. Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury. I own this book, so I have no reason not to read it. After buy it though, I discovered I’m not a fan of Bradbury’s writing style. I think I’ll have to bite the bullet and just read it one day, since it it both a classic and short.
  4. Dracula by Bram Stoker. Although if I read it now, I won’t be able to avoid picturing Winona Rider, Keanu Reeves, and Gary Oldman in the roles.
  5. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett . I started this book as a kid but never read past Mary moving in with her uncle and Professor McGonagall Mrs. Medlock. But I loved the movie as a kid so one day I’ll re-start and finish the book.
  6. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger . Missed out on reading this in school too, although honestly…. I don’t particularly want to read it… But it is a classic…
  7. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I’ve only read the scene where Franksenstein sort of, kind of, but not really described how he created his monster.
  8. The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. I haven’t read this, even though I own it in several languages.
  9. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. As someone in the mental health field, I feel like I need to read this.
  10. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey. Same comment as above. There are a lot of interesting books out there on mental illness. (Although I understand this one is a bit racist and misogynistic…)
3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

    1. I’m pretty prone to buying the classics when I’m in the bookstore since they’re usually inexpensive and I know I should read them, so their piles just keep getting bigger and bigger.

Leave a Reply

