Bout of Books 2015


I had planned to participate in this week’s Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish, but the isn’t going to work for me: Top Ten Books You Read in 2014. Sadly, I’ve only read 17 books in 2015 and several of those books are textbooks :(.  A lot of the reading I do is academic…

But I’m determined to read more for fun in 2015! So I’ve decided to participate in the 2015 Bout of Books, which I serendipitously stumbled onto right after realizing how few books I read this year. Bout of Books is a read-a-thon organized by

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

So how do you participate? 1) Declare your intention to do so on the Bout of Books blog. 2) Set a goal for the number of books you’ll read between January 5th and 11th. 3) When January 5th rolls around: start reading!

Since January is winter break and the first week or two I’ll have the most free time from grad school, I should be able to get a lot read. At the very least, I want to finish the series that I’ve started this year: The Clockwork Century and The Parasol Protectorate. And I guess I should get around to reading House of Leaves… even though it is so long and odd…

Leave a Reply

