Book Beginnings and The Friday 56: Mort


For today’s Book Beginnings and Friday 56, I thought I’d pull from Mort, my favorite Terry Pratchett novel (so far). I wanted to do a Terry Pratchett book since I noticed during a trip to Barnes & Noble that Good Omens (written by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman) was organized under ‘G’ rather than ‘P’. Tsch.


For Book Beginnings

This is the bright candlelit room where the life-timers are stored – shelf upon shelf of them, squat hourglasses, one for every living person, pouring their fine sand from the future into the past.

For The Friday 56

(I’m cheating on this a little, choosing several lines from across page 56, to better show case Pratchett’s humor and wit).

The woman said: “Why does the demon show his teeth, husband of my life?”

“I’m no demon! I’m a human!”

“You’re a thief?” said the father. “A murderer? To creep in thus, are you a tax-gatherer?” His hand slipped under the table and came up holding a meat cleaver honed to paper thinness. His wife screamed and dropped the plate and clutched the youngest children to her.

4 thoughts on “Book Beginnings and The Friday 56: Mort

    1. I highly recommend it, as well as the other books in Pratchett’s Discworld series. There are A LOT of them, but they’re fun, quick reads.

Leave a Reply

