Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 New-to-Me Authors


Today’s prompt makes me glad I started a GoodReads account at the start of the year. Also, I feel like my book reading lists are heavily overlapping… I’ll need to read more in 2015.

Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

  1. Joseph Gordon-Levitt. In January, I read his Tiny Book of Tiny Stories series. They were delightfully petite.
  2. Robert Galbraith. Yes, I know that “Robert” is only new to people who have been living under a rock since 2003. I’m putting this author on here to protest people revealing the identities behind pen name. I read The Cuckoo’s Calling in January, and have been waiting to read the sequel.
  3. Erin Morgenstern. My review of The Night Circus is here. I look forward to reading more from her.
  4. Anne Zoelle. My review of The Awakening of Ren Crown is here. Although not without flaws, the story kept me interested enough to look forward to its sequel in 2015.
  5. Katie Cross. I’ll be posting my review of Miss Mabel’s School for Girls tomorrow. No spoilers on how I’ll rate it or anything, but I’ll be reading the sequel in 2015.
  6. Magnus Flyte. My review of City of Dark Magic is here. I’ve got its sequel, City of Lost Dreams, on my bookshelf and its awaiting my read in 2015.
  7. Gail Carriger. I started her Parasol Protectorate series this year. Aiming to finish it in 2015.
  8. Cherie Priest. I also started The Clockwork Century series, because apparently 2014 was the year I discovered (in a non-Columbusing sense) steampunk.
  9. Rachel Carson. After years of wanting to, I finally read Silent Spring, about the overuse/abuse of pesticides in America post-WWII to the 1960’s and its possible long term repercussions. DUDE. She was clairvoyant.
  10. Irvin Yalom. I read his Theory and Practice of Group Therapy for a grad class. It’s basically the Bible of group therapy. Also, more people should participate in group therapy.
5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2015 New-to-Me Authors

    1. I ended up picking up Gail Carriger’s Soulless on a whim, so I was surprised how much I liked it. The second one was also really enjoyable so hopefully the next three will be as well. And apparently she’s starting a spin off series set in the same universe in 2015.

    1. I’d definitely recommend any of these if they’re in a genre you read (I realize a 600 page book on psychotherapy is not in everyone’s wheel house). But it’s probably obvious I recommend them since they’re on my list.

Leave a Reply

