MicroMonday #1: Ma was Gone


*big sigh of relief* NaNoWriMo 2014 is officially over and I made the 50,000 word goal by the skin of my teeth. So I want to re-focus this blog by 1) getting back to creative writing posts, and 2) posting more regularly. Since I’ve been having some fun with The Friday 56, I looked up creative writing memes for ideas on how I could post something creative on a regular basis. Unfortunately, many of the ones that interested me are no longer active. I’ve started my blog a few years too late…

For Mondays, I came up with my own weekly writing idea based on an extreme flash fiction that I feel every writer should be familiar with. Supposedly it was written by Ernest Hemingway as part of a bet to craft an entire story using only six words: “For sale: Baby shoes, never worn.” Who ever wrote that line nailed it. Can you read those six words without trying to come up with a (most likely tragic) story to explain them?

So my idea is Micro Mondays. I’m going to try my very best to write a sentence that tells a story. I won’t limit myself to six words, since I don’t think I can manage that much brevity… But the sentence will have to be brief.

Here’s my first attempt. Not amazing, but it works:

After twelve years, he returned home but Ma was gone. (10 words)

This is kind of what I was imagining when I wrote the sentence. “Old Man Walking Up A Path of Tall Grass With Abandoned House” by Sandra Cummingham at Fine Arts America.
Leave a Reply

