Why Libraries Matter


I love the library in my new neighborhood. I’ve been there several times in the month I’ve lived here, and I got my library cards as soon as I could. Actually, I got it before I could. They had to issue me a temporary one until I could prove I lived in the city. I had it made official today, and promptly checked out more books.

Then I saw the following video on why libraries are important and the services they provide people.

Why Libraries Matter (Go ‘head and click it! It’s only 9:58 minutes)

I think libraries are one of those things where if you don’t use it (like many people who decide library budgets I imagine don’t), then it’s hard to see why they’re important (e.g. providing free access to books, internet, and other materials to people who could not otherwise afford or have access to them).

 

Leave a Reply

